Carole passed away last night

After a long struggle with cancer, Carole left this life last night at 9:45 p.m. EDT.

Though I miss her already, I’m glad she has gone through that necessary door and is now past the pain.  For those of you who didn’t have the privilege and joy of knowing her personally or of seeing her very often, this 3 minute montage will suggest something of what we all loved so dearly about her.  She was a beautiful woman in every positive sense of the word.

The funeral will be held on Wednesday June 10 at the Living Mission Methodist Church at 7289 Belton Bridge Road in Lula, Ga.    The family will receive friends today (June 9) from 3 to 5 and from 7 to 9 at the McGahee-Griffin and Stewart Funeral Home (706 778-8668) at 175 VFW Post Road in Cornelia, GA.

11 thoughts on “Carole passed away last night

  1. forrest umberger

    Perry,
    Thank you for sharing your tribue to Carole with me. I wish I could have known her better. I know she was a very special person because; I never heard you say an unkind thing about her; you kept in touch with her and were mindful of her needs; and you were there for her at those important events in her life; and most importantly you were there when she left this life. That says something about how special Carole was and how special you are. I am honored to be numbered among your friends. Forrest

    Reply
  2. Bowen Baxter

    Perry,
    I am very sorry to hear of Carole’s passing, but definitely agree that She is at peace, and in a far better place. Your memorial presentation is truly outstanding and a most fitting tribute.

    With Sincere Sympathy and Best Regards to You and Family.

    Bowen

    Reply
  3. Becca

    Perry,
    Thank you for sharing this tribute with me. I never had the pleasure of meeting Carole, but it seems that she was a joyous woman to be around. With each picture her smile emanates kindness, and her eyes shine with love and care. It is clear that Carole greatly loved, and was greatly loved… For this very reason her life was not lived in vain, but lived to its fullest and to its best. My sincere sympathies are with you and your dear family. Becca

    Reply
  4. David Steele

    You are always focused on the right things Perry – in this regard it seems her greatest legacy is, and yours will be, the two great kids both of you raised. Focus on that, as at the end, I believe that is all that probably matters. It is the hardest job of any, and she leaves a great family behind, a clear sign of her commitment and her focus on the right things.

    p.s. the pic’s of a young Carol and a young Perry were particularly nice to see.

    We’ll be thinking of you and your family…

    The Steele’s – David, Lynne, Ben & Emma.

    Reply
  5. Darrell Beasey

    Perry,

    The montage and song are a wonderful tribute.

    My sincere condolences to you and your family.

    Darrell

    Reply
  6. Jimmy Moore

    Perry, thank you for sharing this heartfelt tribute of Carole. Although, I never had the opportunity to meet her personally, the video tells a story of the love she has for her family. I’m sure she was a very special lady. I know all of you will miss her deeply. Until you see her again, may God flood your minds with many wonderful memories. Your family will be remembered in my prayers.

    Your friend,
    Jimmy

    Reply
  7. Debbie Pollock

    Perry, I am so sorry to hear this news. This was a beautiful tribute and I know you will miss her very much. My thoughts will be with you and your family.

    Debbie

    Reply
  8. Jody Wall

    Perry –
    Thank you for sharing your kind words and the video tribute for Carole. She was obviously a very special person. I know she will be greatly missed. May you find peace in the wonderful memories you have. Your dedication to her and your family are to be commended.

    Sincerely,
    Jody Wall
    Duke Energy

    Reply
  9. Perry Post author

    I hope you will all permit me to thank you en masse. I treasure your comments and am comforted by them. Jimmy Moore, God has indeed flooded my mind, and apparently that of everyone else who was close around her, with memories of her and her generosity.

    Although I’m likely to expand this in an individual blog entry later when I feel up to it, I’ll foreshadow that post by saying that the children and I have agreed, I think, that her epitaph will be “Born to Give.” Someone gave us a picture of her that I’ll attach to the blog entry when I write it to explain the significance of that.

    Thank you all for caring, for feeling some of our pain, and for sharing your comforting words. The loss of a loved one brings people to your side almost as much as creating a new Facebook page. 😉

    Carole will never be gone from my life. I’m sure I’ll see her image each day because something will trigger a memory with her in a starring role, and I’ll hear her voice every day, for often she was the voice of conscience and reason that I’ll still hear whenever I’m trying to make a decision, and I’ll feel her love I’m sure so long as I am still here. That should be enough for anybody, wouldn’t you think?

    Reply
  10. Christy

    Perry
    The music wasnt on at the services and it brought to tears to my eyes…with the verses and song they flowed…what a beautiful woman she was and will always be in the hearts of us all. She was blessed in a way that few are – by you – through the years. Thank you for sharing…
    Christy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

