Gutsy Gibbon Live CD mystery solved

On October 21st I posted here about the fact that I couldn’t boot from the recently released Live CD version 7.10 of Ubuntu, the so-called Gutsy Gibbon.  That post attracted more comment than any other ever has on this blog as others reported that they too had encountered the same problem.  One of those who responded was Tomcat–TC since he too was having the problem.  Gutsy Gibbon desktop Earlier today, Tomcat–TC reported back that he had found a solution that worked for him, and as the screen shot at the right demonstrates, I have just proven to myself that it works for me too.  For the first time, I was able to boot from the Gutsy Gibbon Live CD on this, my Sony machine.

Previously I had encountered the error message with the Live CD after I selected the default option to load or install Ubuntu.  However, on that initial screen one of the options, evoked by pressing F6, is to modify the command line before executing the boot up command.  Tomcat–TC suggested that I simply add the following parameter all_generic_ide to the boot command line after the words quiet splash and just before the two final dashes.  When you press F6 the cursor is at the end of that line and you can use the arrow keys to move it so that it is positioned after the words quiet splash and make the additional entry.  After doing that, I simply pressed enter and eventually the CD booted up into the Ubuntu environment. 

As you can see if you click on the screen shot above and view a larger version of it, there is an icon on the desktop to install the operating system if you choose.  I decided to do that, but there I encountered another problem.  There are seven steps in that installation before you actually commit to begin the installation.  The first few are designed to identify the language, the time zone and the type of keyboard you are using.  Thereafter, the partitioner is initiated to find the hard drives on the system and provide you the option of specifying where to install the operating system.  All of that went well, except that during the process of examining the installed hard drives it found no existing file system.  Since I didn’t want to kill my Windows XP installation by installing over it, I canceled the installation and will go back to the drawing board. 

I have no idea why this CD doesn’t see the existing file system.  Maybe someone who reads and responds to this post will be able to suggest how I might get it to see my Windows installation.  However, even if they don’t, encountering that problem doesn’t dampen my enthusiasm for having learned the solution to the mystery of how to get the newly released Gutsy Gibbon Live CD to boot on my system nor does it lessen my appreciation to Tomcat–TC for his reporting back the results of his investigation and the resolution to the problem.  

 

2 thoughts on “Gutsy Gibbon Live CD mystery solved

  1. Justin

    Hi Perry,

    I’m having the exact same problem – been working it for awhile. Can you post your lspci? I think its tied to the IDE controller. My machine in question uses an ICH7 IDE controller from Intel, and it looks like this is a problem up in the kernel, not just the Ubuntu distro. http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8944

    If you’re not using ICH7 (or ICH5) IDE controller, its probably something else…. but I’ve got the problem tracked that far.

    What I’ve been able to get working on this machine is Ubuntu 6.06.1-i386. It won’t support SMP, but it gets the job done. If you have a single core machine, this will get linux up and running…. not the latest and greatest (Its running kernel v 2.6.15)… but that might be an interim workaround for you while the kernel gurus work this issue. They suggested I roll my own kernel…. I’m heading there next.

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Hi, Justin.

    Thanks for your comments. I have read the entries at the link you provided to bugzilla. I’ll do some experimenting and make a new blog post afterwards that will, I hope, provide the information you requested. (I don’t know how to access the lspci except within the Linux environment. If you know a way to find that information from within Win XP, I won’t be offended if you provide the steps to discover it in a foolproof set of instructions.)

    One other bit of information I’d like to share is that when I used Tomcat–TC’s added parameter while trying to test the Linux Mint 4.0 Live CD and got into the system, I tried going through the manual install to install the OS on a segment of my HD. The program did see the hard disk, but it didn’t identify the file system (meaning Win XP). It did recognize that the HD was formatted as an NTFS partition, but it didn’t see the occupied portion of the HD as being Win XP. I took a screen shot of that manual install page before I bailed out of the installation. So I’ll post that screen shot when I make the new post updating my other efforts.

    I’m afraid I don’t have the chops to roll my own kernel yet, so I’ll be interested in knowing how that effort turns out for you, if you don’t mind reporting back. I’ll also monitor the link to bug 8944 to see if you report your success back there.

    I’m reasonably sure this bug is probably related to older equipment, since that describes my system which was created back in 2001 and is a single core machine with an IDE controller. Once I can boot into a distro (Gutsy or Mint 4.0) and find out the results of lspci, maybe I’ll be able to tell you just which IDE controller mine is.

    Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

