Goals

Yesterday or the day before, I was tagged by Tish and invited to list 5 goals of mine. I must admit that I am more into pipe dreams and fairy tales than I am into goals. It’s a character flaw I suppose to be a dreamer rather than a planner. When my friend Jerry recently made some very kind remarks about me in which he said,

Perry is one of the smartest guys I know. Why aint he rich? If there was a necessary relationship between intelligence and wealth, Perry would be cruising the Caribbean in his yacht.

… it caused me to realize that the answer to his question “Why aint he rich?” is very much related to my being a dreamer rather than a planner. Assuming what Jerry says is true about my intelligence, which I really think is subject to question, I would guess that while intelligence may be a necessary condition to being wealthy, it isn’t a sufficient one.

But I digress and am obviously avoiding addressing Tish’s question about my 5 goals. So, biting the bullet, here goes.

  • The first that comes to mind is the Moses Dunston goal. Moses used to say “Any day above ground is a good day.” I hope to complete this day and begin the next “above ground.”
  • Another is to help my friends Paul Moor and Tucker Childers increase their blogs’ visibility and readership.
  • Then I’d like to see my youngest grandchild Connor reach his 21st birthday on May 1, 2026. On that day, I’ll be 84 years old, presuming I am still “above ground.”
  • One I’m almost sure to achieve is to stay engaged with and enthusiastic about technology as long as I live. I once said I’d almost be willing, if it were possible, to be placed in suspended animation just to see the advances in telephone technology a hundred years from now. I find such things as that fascinating. I hope to keep learning about them as long as I live.
  • Lastly, I hope to get the carpet, that I already own thanks to my son Jeff, installed in my house so that I can once again walk barefooted around my house. I moved into this condo in 1984, and in 1987 my two dogs, Rocky and Bruno, joined my family. They were a beloved but destructive part of my household, so once they had gone on to doggy heaven after 14 years with me, my sons and I pulled up the trashed carpeting that was their legacy. My floors have been bare since that time. I think I may be able to achieve this goal in the next few weeks.

This exercise of struggling to think of any goals I have is enlightening. It helps me understand why I have achieved so little of any real significance in my life. I’m not sure I like what it reveals, but dissatisfaction with what I see when I look at myself could become a beginning point for changing things.

4 thoughts on “Goals

  1. Darrell Beasey

    Hi Perry,

    Your mention of Moses Dunston brings back many great memories of this man for me. I brought Moses from the field operations area to his Collector position back in the early 80’s and enjoyed his presence each and every day. He was always such a postitive person and always had those little snipets of wisdom that seemed to put things into perspective. I know he would love the fact that you remember him and continue to quote him. I thought I’d share this short bio of his, which appeared in the Indianpolis Star after his death in 2002.

    Moses L. Dunston
    April 18, 2002 •• 162 words •• ID: ind55069773
    Moses L. Dunston, 71, Indianapolis, died April 12. He worked 29 years for Citizens Gas and Coke Utility, retiring in 1996. He was an Army veteran of the Korean War. Services: 1 p.m. April 20 in Galilee Missionary Baptist Church, with calling there from 11 a.m. Burial: Crown Hill Cemetery. Survivors: wife Barbara Pettis Dunston sons Wayne B. Woodruff, Wayne B. Rosa mother Alline Dunston three grandchildren three great-grandchildren

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Quoting Moses is the very least tribute I could give to a man I admired too, may he rest in peace.

    Thanks for the information on him and for the fact that you persevere in following my blog.

    Reply
  3. Tish

    Thanks so much for playing along, Perry! I enjoyed reading about your goals! 🙂 And thanks so much for all the help you’ve been giving with WordPress!

    By the way, we’re having a Blogger meet at Barley’s on Saturday evening. Check out my post about it. I hope you can make it out! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Perry Post author

    Thanks for reposting this Tish. Sorry it got creamed when I deleted my blog spam recently.

    Hope you folks have fun at Barley’s Saturday.

    Reply

Leave a comment