Speaking up

As my friend Jerry observes in this post, we humans love to talk, to hear the sound of our own voice, sometimes even though what we are saying is just meaningless babble. I plead guilty. Can’t help it. It’s just the way I am. In fact, when I was in grade school they even had classes in elocution, which I doubt you would find in many modern curricula. And in a way, I think that’s sad, because I believe that its absence probably contributes to that almost-universal fear many people have about speaking in public.

So this morning, I think I’ll indulge myself and do an audio post.

Ideally I suppose, I’d be speaking something that I wrote, but I read something this morning that I prefer to use for this post. It was written by Nick Usborne for A List Apart back in 2003. And since I liked his post better than anything I’ve written lately, I decided to share my reading of it with you below. Listen, if you care to, or if you’d prefer just read his post for yourself and enjoy the sound of your own voice.

Leave a Reply

