A funny line

Yesterday my friend Jerry Pounds called me to ask if I knew of a florist close to the hospital where our mutual friend Tucker was hospitalized so that he could order some flowers for him. I said, “No, I don’t, but what I’d do is go to Google Local and look one up.”

He said, “Hold on. I’ll do it while we talk.”

Because I always find it easier to guide someone through something if I am looking at the same thing they are, I too went to Google. Once we both got there, I instructed him to “Click on More, and then on the next page click on Even More,” both of which were links on each succeeding page that lead to more of Google’s tools and services.

Then Jerry cracked me up when he said, “I’ve never clicked on More before, and I’ve clicked on Even More even less.”

3 thoughts on “A funny line

  1. Jerry

    Good memory. I wish I could remember when I had been funny more often; it might form the basis for an exaggerated sense of self-importance. It’s sad when every possible reason for personal arrogance has been eliminated.

    We’ve been doing a lot of writing and communicating about our friend Tucker recently. The silence from his associates is deafening. I am awed by the absence of commentary available to most people. You’d think folks would treat emails as a form of address and in so doing, be sensistive to the need to respond at intervals to maintain the dialogue.

    Its like passing someone in the hall everyday and ignoring them when they say “good morning.” Blogging is like farting in The Cathedral of Saint John the Devine when it is empty; you feel that the act has some significance–you expect, perhaps fear, that it will lead to some unexpected outcome.

    Instead, in lieu of the voice of God or a squeak from a mouse, there is this thunderous silence–all the more pronounced because you expected, at the least, to offend someone.

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Blogging to “thunderous silence” is far more common, at least in my experience, than to a flurry of significant dialog in the comments section. As for people responding to emails, I find that someone is more likely to respond to an email directed to them individually than to them as a part of a group. And finally, concern for a friend or an acquaintance’s health, is a lot like positive reinforcement; it is more often “thought” than expressed.

    For the record, I often see clever turns of phrases in your blogging that make me smile and sometimes laugh out loud. For instance, as you reported your visit to the hospital for your recent appendicitis, I got a good chuckle out of this line: “Lots of cows and people that tend to cows and people who weigh as much as cows.” The thing that so tickled me about your comment on the phone yesterday was the spontaneity of it. When such things just come out without forethought or planning, they are hard to beat.

    Reply
  3. Jerry

    I need to repeat the mantra that “people are like that” over and over again to center myself amidst the irrational expectations I have for others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

