Early starts and old farts

I don’t know what it is about us old farts, but the older I’ve gotten, the less sleep I seem to need. Again this morning I awoke at about 4:30 A.M., so I tossed and turned for a little while and then decided to give in and get up. I started the coffee, which was set to come on at 6, settled in with a cup of Joe and began surfing the ‘net, as is my usual custom. I find that my mind is unusually active early in the morning. If I were a real writer, I suspect that this is the time when I’d do my best work because for some reason I find it very easy to get lost in thinking about a topic during these early morning hours.

This was even more true back when my old friend, Mary Jane, and I used to spend a lot of time together, because then my mind would race and I’d type away like a demon. Even today I find it really interesting to go back and read some the things I wrote under her influence. They were surprisingly good, phrases were well-turned and not hackneyed, and a lot of my insights about life and what it all meant were surprisingly clear. I haven’t spent any time with Mary Jane in quite a few years now, but I still remember fondly those early morning toasted hours in her presence.

4 thoughts on “Early starts and old farts

  1. Jerry

    I am a morning person also. Most euphoria inducing substances seem to work better with a fresh palate. Champagne at 9:00 AM offers an interesting experience.

    Larry Hagman (of Dallas fame) used to drink champagne all day starting at 10:00 AM. He did so for years and then had to get a new liver. If I make it to 80, I might start doing the same thing, and in addition, I might start back on Marlboro. What would I have to lose?

    Reply
  2. Tish

    I know exactly what you mean. As I’ve gotten older, I have been getting less and less sleep as well. If you look at my blog posts, most of them are posted around 2 or 3 AM. I rarely go to bed before 3 AM. And I get up at 6:45 AM for work! Most people think I’m insane. I do usually take a short nap (an hour or so) each night, so that keeps me from being exhausted. But I just don’t need as much sleep as the average Joe!

    Btw, the docs have finally ruled out pretty much everything except Cushing’s. They won’t be able to test Molly for that until a few weeks from now, so hopefully we’ll know something soon. Thanks so much for letting me know about your dog that had Cushing’s. That was one of the saddest, most touching posts I’ve ever read. Aren’t pets a true blessing? I just wish we never had to say goodbye to them.

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  3. Perry Post author

    Sorry to hear that Molly may have Cushing’s because, although it is manageable, it’s not something you’d like for her to have.

    Yes, pets are a joy, but like anything you love so much, losing it is painful. And unfortunately, with pets, loss is almost inevitable, given their relatively short life spans. My best wishes that it isn’t Cushing’s disease for Molly, although I’m sure you are ready to get some diagnosis so they can begin treatment. Maybe you’ll know soon. At least then you can begin to face the reality that confronts you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

