Mike’s Grand Canyon pictures

This is one of a number of outstanding pictures Mike got during his recent trip to the Grand Canyon. I particularly like this one, when viewed in a larger resolution (which you can do on his Flickr site). If you haven’t yet checked out this series of photographs, I recommend it highly. You can click on any individual picture there and once the somewhat larger thumbnail of it is displayed, you’ll find an “all sizes” link above it. Clicking that will display the picture in a large size, and quite a few of them deserve to be seen that way.

Also if you’ll click on the picture at the right, it will display that photo on Mike’s site. Look for the all sizes link above it when you arrive there and check out this photo in the larger size.

3 thoughts on “Mike’s Grand Canyon pictures

  1. Jerry

    I visited the Grand Canyon in 1977. Spent about 5 minutes looking over the rim, then went back into the lodge to drink and rut.

    Some aspects of our physical world are too grand to be absorbed. I am much more attracted to more accessible prospects like the park-like character of the English countryside.

    When Aubrey took the company to England, Ireland and Scotland (about 20 of us), Wilson Rourk and I spent all of our time on the streets and in pubs. We wanted to talk to the people and try to absorb the culture.

    Everyone else went to museums, castles, and cathedrals. Aubrey got pissed at us because we did not join the group. I understand his reaction, but I still have no interest in, what our tour guide referred to as “ABC”, another bloody church.

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Carole, Jeff, Mike and I took a driving trip across the U.S. for three weeks in 1976 to attend a Barbershop convention in San Francisco. And during that trip we saw a number of the natural wonders of our big and beautiful country — the Grand Canyon, the Petrified Forest, the Muir Woods, Yellowstone, the Big Sur, Carlsbad Caverns, etc. It was a very memorable for all of us. The fascination for Mike nowadays is that he can combine such adventures with his love of photography.

    Your different orientation, like all different orientations, is just a fact of life, neither better nor worse than any other, in my opinion.

    Reply
  3. Jerry

    You are correct of course. I have spent most of my life comparing my interests, perspectives, opinions, tastes and more to that of others in an attempt to advance a reason or rationale for my superiority. In a futile attempt to validate my value, I have competed against others in regards to their “orientation.”

    Neurotics and inferiority have driven my obsession with comparison–and religion (Christians are better than non-Christians) and wealth and achievement. I am not sure that intellectual clarity will remediate the situation, but it creates a form of intervention into the conditioning that manages my nervous system.

    When I was a teenager, we divided everybody into the cool and the uncool. Each person was judged in comparison to those criteria. I think I am going to spend some time thinking about this (rational-emotive therapy type thinking) to eliminate the habit of comparing myself to others.

    On the other hand, I sense a resignation in your perspective that often sounds like you have given up on the human mystery. Behavior analysts suffer from this syndrome. In part it is born in the determinism that is inherent in science.

    I’m probably oversimplifying your position. From a humanistic perspective, I have taken the natural selection/determinism/clever monkey position. People are interesting but not psychoanalytically mysterious creatures.

    Parenting creates a sense of worth in a human that cannot be undone or redone. If you got it early, you do not have to prove yourself; if you did not get it, no compensatory machinations will produce it.

    Isn’t it interesting how one sentient observation can help someone see themselves more clearly? Your last sentence is evidence that therapists can help their patients—something I have pooh-poohed in recent years in spite of my own 3 years in therapy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

