Happy Birthday, Carole

Today, January 15th, is Carole’s birthday. 

I’ve known her since she was 14 years old, and after we dated for 5 years in high school, we married in August of 1962.  Though we have been divorced now for over 25 years, I still love and respect her, and so I want to wish her a happy birthday publicly.  The photo at the right shows us during one of our vacations in the early 1970’s on a deep sea fishing trip, maybe the only time we ever did that.  I don’t know the exact date when this picture was taken, but it is one of my favorite pictures of us together for a number of reasons, chief among which is its air of wind-blown casualness and lack of pretension.  I like the fact that it captures us when we were young and having fun together.  It helps me recall the good times we had together and appreciate how much we have shared through the years.

Carole, I hope you have a wonderful day today and that you enjoy celebrating many more such events in the future.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Carole

  1. Bowen Baxter

    Sheridan and I also wish Carole a Happy Birthday. Do you find it hard to remember being so young as in the picture?

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Thanks, Bowen, I’ll pass your wishes along to Carole.

    Yes, in some ways it’s hard to remember being that young. At other times, I’m startled look into a mirror and see someone that doesn’t look like that young guy. I don’t feel any different inside.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

