E-Cycling

As I mentioned in a post the other day, the Plug-In to your Community group held an event for recycling computers on Saturday.  It was well attended as the photo at the right suggests.  I was really surprised by how many people took advantage of this opportunity.  The line of cars snaked through the Best Buy parking lot and eventually split into two separate lines as we drove by the collection point so the army of volunteers could unloaded the equipment we’d brought for recycling.  My car had the back seat, the passenger seat, and the trunk full of equipment.

Joining in this event marked the first time I have ever disposed of a computer that I have bought, so I experienced a bit of nostalgia about “letting go” of my old friends.  However, beginning my de-cluttering with my old computers signifies a step in the right direction, I think.  If I can let go of these electronic friends, I can certainly turn loose the old clothing and shoes that crowd my closets and will never be worn again.  I turned in four CPUs, three monitors, four keyboards, two old dot-matrix printers, and one mouse.  I could have, of course, disposed of more mice, but by the time I had gathered together this pile of equipment I was too exhausted to tackle finding the mice.   

All-in-all it didn’t really take too much time to get through the long lines and off-load the equipment I had brought.  I got there around 10:10 a.m. and was home by about 10:40 a.m.  Of course, once I got home I realized that I had other computers I could have and should have taken to the event.  I shudder to think how much of my income I have spent on such things during the last 25 years, but I feel good about having disposed of some of it in a safe and environmentally friendly way.

4 thoughts on “E-Cycling

  1. Mike

    The line of doomed used equipment reminds me of the inside of the Jawas’ sandcrawler from Star Wars. But in this case, Obi Wan Kenobi, there’d be no Luke Skywalker to save these old R2 units.:)

    Reply
  2. Juan

    Way to go!!! I used a piece of software for home inventory and it listed “Donation Room” as one of the rooms. At first I wondered, “what is that?” then I realized that it was suggesting you find a place to put all the stuff you are going to donate so it is accessible and easy to “put in the car” to take away. So I have begun a Donation Room aka a corner of the garage!! Happy E-cycling!

    Reply
  3. Perry Post author

    You’re right Mike. There is no Luke around for these old junkers, but they served me well in their time.

    Reply
  4. Perry Post author

    That’s a good idea, Juan, but first I’d have to clean out my garage. Perhaps I can do that after I have the carpet that is stored in there awaiting installation laid. It would be a pleasure to get the garage cleaned out enough to be able to store my car in there again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

