Google Reader

For the last week or so, I’ve been using Google Reader as my RSS Feed Reader rather than Bloglines about which I commented back on November 10. Both services do an adequate job of gathering the information for me to peruse, but I find I like the Google Reader interface better than I do the Bloglines interface. My friend, Mike Neel, has just the opposite reaction which illustrates I suppose that no one service is best for everyone.

One thing that I like about the Google Reader is that I can share the recommendations that I discover through it here on my blog. That’s it over in the sidebar at the left in the box where it says “From my RSS feeds.” If you click on the “read more” link at the bottom of it, you’ll see the individual items in the list in more detail. Previously, I used the Bloglines blogging capability to create “My reading list” but that didn’t give me the ability to post that information here on the blog. It’s best to have everything in one spot I think, since it is a bit presumptuous to expect a reader to search several different locations for information from me. Shoot, I consider myself lucky if you check this blog periodically.

As you regular readers know, I believe that reading RSS feeds is a fantastic way to cover a lot of material from the web without having to remember to go to each web site that you might wish to keep up with every day. That prevents the disappointment of visiting a site and discovering that there is no updated content. So if you haven’t yet settled on a feed reader, I would suggest that you give the Google Reader a try. I think that once you get the hang of it, you’ll be hooked on RSS feeds, whether or not you decide that Google Reader is the one for you. And if you are a Firefox user, you can specify in the Tools / Options / Feeds dialog which service you want to be your default feed reader. After having made that choice, when you click on a feed it will automatically be saved to the service you specify.

Leave a Reply

