Bloglines

When I began using Firefox 2.0 as my browser the other day, I needed to replace Flock’s “My News” to keep track of the RSS feeds that I monitor.  I chose to subscribe to Bloglines.  It is “a FREE online service that helps you subscribe to and manage lots of web information, such as news feeds, weblogs and audio.  Bloglines tracks the information you’re interested in, retrieves new stuff as it happens, and organizes everything for you on your own personal web news page.”  (That quote is from their help file.)

This morning I’ve taken advantage of another of its features and created an additional blog called, “My reading list,” to which I post the links, and my comments about them, to the articles that I read each day and find worth posting. I would invite you, if you wish, to visit that link and see the things that in the past (say in the 1990’s) I might have sent out in an email to 100 or so of my closest friends with a recommendation that they “check it out.”  Now I don’t have to burden them with the extra email in their inbox, but if they are really interested, they can visit this page and see the things I find interesting.  In fact, they can even “subscribe” to the feed for that page so that they don’t even have to visit the page.

I would encourage you to check out Bloglines, as I’ve encouraged you before to check out RSS feeds.  It makes it much easier to keep track of what’s going on online using this strategy than it is to remember to visit 20 to 100 web pages each day.

2 thoughts on “Bloglines

Leave a Reply

