New browsers

Firefox 2.0 and Internet Explorer 7 are out and available.  I’ve installed Firefox 2.0 on my own computer and yesterday, I helped my friend Paul install IE7 on his.  He described IE7 as the Rolls-Royce of browsers, but I countered that it is more like getting a new car of the same brand.  There are a number of new bells and whistles, but it is the same kind of car.  I like it much better than IE6, but it is a matter of preference as to whether it is that much better than FF 2.0.  I do like the way it does RSS feeds, however.

If you are still driving the old version of IE, I would think you would want to add IE7 as soon as it is convenient.  It is purportedly more secure than IE6, and it certainly has enough enhanced features that it is worth the trouble to install.  If you aren’t yet bold enough to add it now, it will be installed automatically through Windows Update sometime in November, I understand.

I’m sure I’ll be writing more about these browsers in the days ahead, so stay tuned.

Update: Mike Neel has also posted his comments about these two browsers, in which he goes into more detail about the differences and similarities between them.  So rather than my reinventing that particular wheel, let me recommend that you check out his review.

powered by performancing firefox

2 thoughts on “New browsers

  1. Michael Neel

    Parallel-symbiotic blogging!

    I just posted the same topic on my blog, checked my feeds, and saw your post.

    My post in short, they are so the same I say you want ice cream; they both say yes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

