On the road again

On Monday, October 2, I left town to visit my family in Georgia for a couple of days, but the two-day visit I had planned originally turned into a four-day visit, and I didn’t get back to Knoxville until Friday around noon.  That’s why there were no blog posts last week.  I thought about announcing this visit in advance but I generally don’t want to make it known that I am out of town for home security reasons.

Yamaha NS-10M speakers installed The primary purpose of my visit, aside from seeing the family, was to deliver the Yamaha NS-10M near field monitor speakers (pictured at the left, showing them as installed at his house) to Jeff for use in his basement recording studio.  Several years ago, I had purchased these speakers to use with the midi studio I was setting up.  But as with too many things, my willingness to buy exceeded my capacity to understand, and I eventually became befuddled by all the various links and routings of the midi signal.  When I gave up on that pursuit, I had loaned Jeff these speakers, and he used them for a year or two.  About six to nine months ago, I asked for them back so that I could use them with some other pieces of gear that I had purchased back then, but this time I wanted them for use in producing podcasts.  I realized, after a while, that I really didn’t need them, and Jeff did.  Hence my trip to Georgia.

While I was in town Carole and I had a chance to attend a concert by the East Hall Middle School choral group on Thursday night at the Airline Baptist Church, in which my 13-year-old granddaughter, Maegan (in the middle in the photograph) sang.  I was glad I was able to get this photograph of the family together in the auditorium.  Pictured from left to right is Deanna, Maegan and Jeff. 

More photographs from my visit can be found on my Flickr site.  They were the ones uploaded on October 6, 2006.

And on the same day I left for Georgia for the week, my friend and former associate, Don Vernine, and his friend Don Robaldo left from Tampa for a 16 day trip to Europe (primarily to Italy) to investigate purchasing a sail boat so that he can decide whether he wants to spend the next couple of years or so sailing around the Mediterranean.  This morning I received an email report of his trip thus far, and it sounds like he is really enjoying the scenery and the travel.  Both of the Dons are of Italian heritage, so the trip is especially meaningful to them.  They will return on October 18, 2006.

2 thoughts on “On the road again

  1. Jerry Pounds

    A couple of years sailing around the Mediterranean–boy does that elicit some beautiful imagery. You would have so many great stories, you would bore all your friends who envied you the trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

