Pellissippi State’s Hot Air Balloon Festival

Do you own a camera? Want a good photo op? This weekend might be just the ticket.

Mike, my son, called this afternoon to alert me to the fact that Pellissippi State’s Hot Air Balloon Festival is scheduled for this coming weekend, Sept. 22 and 23.  Here’s the schedule of events.  Since Mike has recently gotten a new camera and is eager to concoct occasions to experiment with it, this one caught his eye.  It sounds like fun, so we’re going to take it in.  The only concern is the weatherWBIR’s forecast suggests that Mother Nature might not cooperate, but it’s certainly worth being there in case she does.  Things start at 4:00 p.m. on Friday afternoon if all goes well.  From the college’s web site, you should note, “The charge is $10 per vehicle for a weekend pass, which includes parking.”

Blogged with Flock

2 thoughts on “Pellissippi State’s Hot Air Balloon Festival

  1. Jerry Pounds

    For the last 56 years, I have been watching television and looking at pictures of “things”–events, geography, animals. Special effects are so real, that it is difficult to discriminate what is computerized.

    The cumulative effect of all this visual input is a heightened threshold that is unassailable. The only experiences that have any value to me anymore are the real ones. So I do not bother to carry a camera except when prodded to do so.

    I think a hot air balloon show would be a lot of fun.

    By the way, I talked with De Scarboro a few days ago. He is living in Greenville where he owns a small recruiting firm. No children, married. Seems to be having a good life.

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Yep, I know what you mean. Sometimes reality does seem to suffer in comparison to special effects, but one of the things I’ve often said I wanted to do was to be in Albuquerque in October for their annual Balloon Festival because all the pictures I’ve seen of it make it look so enticing. It’s a shame to have a smaller version of it right here in town and not take advantage of it. So, thanks to Mike, he, my almost-17-month old grandson Connor and I are going to the event. I’m sure I’ll blog about how it turns out.

    Thanks for your comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

