First post from Linux computer

Thanks to my friend, Shannon, I now have another computer (I still have the old one too), and the new one is running Ubuntu 6.06.  So my absence from posting for a while is at least in part because I have been on  “educational leave.”  If the truth be known, I’ve been quite busy on the Internet lately learning a lot of different things, but I just haven’t been posting here.  So I am due for some serious “catch up” posts in the next few days, because I’ve been exploring some things that were very interesting, at least to me.

I do want to make one comment of appreciation to Brent Roos for the invaluable assistance he provided when he described how to Install Flock on Ubuntu back on July 24, 2006.  Like almost everything else, if you know how, it’s simple but if you don’t, it’s an unsolvable mystery.  I was able to follow Brent’s instructions and, thanks to the ability to copy and paste, get the package installed.  So now I’ll be able to compare how Flock runs on Linux with the experiences I’ve already had running it on Windows XP. 

I’ll also point out that because of this new install of Flock, I revisited the Flock Start Page that has a nice set of videos that illustrate some of its features.  I like those and think they will help new users grasp some of the things Flock has to offer.  But for now, I’ll close this and get back to my studies. 

technorati tags:,

Blogged with Flock

3 thoughts on “First post from Linux computer

  1. Brent Roos

    I am glad to have helped. Linux is easy once you understand the basics, and can just copy and paste commands into the terminal. I’m glad that you were able to use the instructions. It is nice to receive feedback from people who have gotten something from this.

    By the way, what do you think of Flock? Pretty cool, eh?

    Cheers

    Reply
  2. Perry Post author

    Hi, Brent.

    I’ve only been working with Linux for the last 24 hours, so I suppose I have a way to go before I’ve got the basics, but I’ll keep at it.

    Flock, on the other hand, I’ve been using since back in November. It has come a long way since then, and it is much more useful nowadays. I guess you could say I’m a fan.

    I know what you mean that it’s nice to receive feedback that your posts have helped someone. And yours certainly made my road easier. By the way, I found it by searching the Flock forum for “installing Flock on Linux.” So it was just what I was searching for. Thanks again for the clear and specific instructions.

    Perry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

