Jamestown ND fire of 2005

03, originally uploaded by webfeed.

My friend, Tom Simpson who runs Webfeed Central and works nights at a hotel in Jamestown, captured some dramatic video of a fire that occurred last night at about 2:30 A.M. in his town. This photo from his Flickr site shows the fire in its early stages, and the video shows about 18 minutes and 30 seconds of its progress over a two-hour stretch. Judging from Tom’s comments as he was taking the footage, it was very cold as you would expect in ND at this time of the year. I also noticed that his coverage of this event made the Top Posts from around WordPress.com page.

3 thoughts on “Jamestown ND fire of 2005

  1. Tom Simpson

    Thank you for pointing out that it made it to the “Top Posts from around WordPress.com”. I hadn’t even noticed that until I read your post.

    I had planned to go down and get some more video of the aftermath, but there was a lot of cleanup going on and I didn’t want to get in the way. I may head down there, this afternoon and see if I can get a little closer, without getting in anybody’s way.

    The rubble is also still smoldering, and they say that we can expect to see smoke for about a week or so.

    Reply
  2. perry Post author

    Glad to point out the “top post” information. I had often wondered what it took to get into that category, and I suppose the answer is the number of page views or inbound links. In any event, congratulations on achieving that recognition.

    Although I know there is a tremendous cost to such things, I hope that all the loss is restricted to property and that the town recovers quickly.

    Reply
  3. Catie

    i think its an awful thing that happened, my mom used to work there and it is very sad to see that its not there anymore…..it was a beautiful building and now its all gone, we should all be happy for what we have, it could have been your house and you could have homeless like the people that lost their homes….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

