del.icio.us news

Today Yahoo acquired del.icio.us. That’s news, not just to me, but to you as well, I think. Previously, Yahoo had acquired Flickr, another site that employs tagging as a strategy. I’ve been using del.icio.us since I started this blog on WordPress.com back at the end of October, and of course, I have been using Flickr as my photo sharing site since back in November of 2004. You can see my del.icio.us tags here. To answer your questions about what del.icio.us is, let me quote this excerpt from the Wikipedia explanation …

“del.icio.us is a social bookmarks manager. It allows you to easily add sites you like to your personal collection of links, to categorize those sites with keywords, and to share your collection not only between your own browsers and machines, but also with others.”

Del.icio.us – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I had been planning to do a podcast to try to explain a bit about the nuances of using favorites or bookmarks and tags, and I may do that yet, but for the moment, let me point out that I think this is a big validation for the concept of tagging. Yahoo provides del.icio.us with some major funding from a big company and this move may well entice many who haven’t yet gotten on the bandwagon of tagging to do so. Here’s the link to their help page which explains a whole lot about using this service.

Here’s the announcement on the Yahoo Search blog. Check out this interview for a better understanding of what del.icio.us is and why it is significant.

Leave a Reply

