Revisiting why I blog

Yesterday I tried to enter this post but for some reason it wasn’t saved, so I am trying again.

As I was visiting some of the sites that I visit frequently, I noticed a post by Shel Israel over at It Seems to Me in which he was doing his best imitation of that Danish prince of indecision as he pondered whether this blog of his was meant to be. Here are a couple of his comments that caught my attention.

He said …

Sometimes I get a good deal of feedback–pro or con. Usually I’m deafened by the silence the blogosphere gives me.

ItSeemstoMe: Repositioning ItSeemstoMe Yet Again

And then he added …

I angst that over on Naked, Robert and I have given specific advice about how blog successfully: Do it often, be brief and stay focused. Here, I skip entire weeks, then blog in binges. I climb soap boxes, am occassionally as long-winded as a marathon runner and the dirty little secret is I love it.

ItSeemstoMe: Repositioning ItSeemstoMe Yet Again

I posted a comment there that I’ll repeat here, because it points out again some of my own thoughts about blogging. I said …

“When I came here to “catch up” on you and what you were saying, I did so via a newsreader, which is how I usually read you. I’m not sure how that behavior affects your rankings.

This post led me to actually open your site, in my newsreader (FeedDemon), to make a comment, because my blog is also all over the place, mostly focused on technology, but frequently about whatever is in my consciousness at that time. I post to “share myself” with those who care to read what I write. Like a lot of writers, I write to “get it out of me” more than because the world needs to hear it. I’m always surprised, though pleased I confess, when I learn that someone has read it.

In reading this blog of yours, I feel I’ve gotten to know you personally, and I think that is reason enough to blog, even if it doesn’t meet the criteria for becoming a highly ranked blogger. So from my perspective, I hope you’ll continue to write about your travels, your point of view, and yes, even about your dogs and cats.”

I think we bloggers sometimes get caught up in the competitiveness that is all around us and is exemplified in the so-called blogosphere by where we rank according to Technorati or some other tool that measures our popularity. I, for one, really don’t care about that. I’m resigned to writing, as I said above, “to get it out of me” and to make it available to whomever (or should that be “whoever”?) chooses to read it. That doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy it when people leave comments or send me email saying that they’ve read a piece or maybe even enjoyed it. It just means that I don’t have any delusions of grandeur about being an “A-List” blogger. There are far more people like me who have a blog for family and friends and who may be discovered by a small circle of others than there are those, like Robert Scoble or even Shel Israel, who are read by everybody. Frankly, I think that’s okay. I enjoy doing it, and that is enough for me.

2 thoughts on “Revisiting why I blog

  1. Bowen Baxter

    Good morning Perry. Just wanted you to know that even though your blogs are quite often technologically and philosofically (spelling ?) way over my head, I still enjoy them.

    Reply
  2. perry Post author

    Thanks, Bowen. It’s funny that I just yesterday wrote something quite similar in a comment over on Colm Smyth’s blog.

    As I told him, I have learned to “tolerate ambiguity” when reading technological things and trust that if I keep reading, things will eventually fall into place and I’ll get the essence of what is being said. That has often worked for me, so I hope that eventually your loyal persistence will pay off in some clarity for you too.

    For the record, it is spelled, “philosophically.” I suspect that what you refer to as being philosophically over your head is more likely to be merely unclear writing or thinking on my part. Nonetheless, thanks for your comment and for visiting the blog.

    Perry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

