An update on my exercise program

Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while know that back in July when my Internet and cable television connection went down for five days, I began walking around the neighborhood for exercise. I’ve since learned that the route I cover is a little over 2 miles. For a while I was counting off the milestones as I they passed. Today marks the 120th day of that program, but alas! I have missed one day (November 2nd) so the string is no longer in tact. However, I’ve missed only one day, so I’m pleased that I have continued with my program even though “the streak” is over.

When I first started walking it was the summer, so my walks were just after I got up, and many of them let me see the sun rise as I was just finishing up the walk. However since the Fall has begun, some of the mornings have been a bit chilly, so I’ve taken to walking about noon, as I did today. I’m not sure how I’m going to handle the Winter, unless I become a “mall walker” as others in my age group do, but I hope to maintain this form of exercise throughout the winter if possible. And before any of you offer to sell me your treadmill that you bought with the best of intentions but haven’t used but three or four times, let me say that “no” I’m not interested in good deal on a hardly-used treadmill.

Leave a Reply

