Colm Smyth on Blogging

Not long ago, when I was still publishing my blog on Blogger, I had a visitor to my site by the name of Colm Smyth, an Irish software developer and blogger, who was randomly making the rounds of blogs by clicking on the “Next Blog” button on Blogger. Using that button is an excellent way to discover blogs that you’d never find otherwise. But Colm was doing it as a kind of self-imposed penance obligation (word changed based on Colm’s feedback). His comment on one of my entries mentioned that “… because I’ve had the chance to experience the lack of any real response to my blog, I’ve made a pact with myself – I will read and leave comments on two new blogs for every time I post.” That personal commitment on his part impressed me, so I visited his blog to find out who he was and, because the blog was relatively new, I went back to the beginning of it and read forward to the most recent post as of that point. I was impressed! Impressed enough to bookmark his blog for exploration periodically.

This morning I made another of those periodic visits to Colm’s blog and read his entry titled, “Blogging, Egos and the Search for Self-Esteem,” posted on October 31, 2005. Once again, I was impressed both by his writing style and his thoughtfulness. If you are interested in discovering another blogger whom you might enjoy reading, I’d commend Colm to you. You may discover, as I did, that his blog is worth a periodic visit.

2 thoughts on “Colm Smyth on Blogging

  1. Colm Smyth

    Hi Perry,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! I could hardly call my “blog tours” a penance; for me it’s part of life’s process of discovery – of curiosity satisfied, something shared, learned and known.

    But the leaving of comments is something that for me is very important because that’s the most exciting part of blogging – to make a connection.

    How could you (or any other blogger) know that your post made me smile or cry or think or remember if I didn’t let you know?

    So a blog tour is like walking down a busy street past the faceless faces and actually stopping once in a while to say “hey, you seem interesting, tell me about yourself!”

    I hope you continue to share your life experiences on your blog, and to make more connections.

    All the best,
    Colm.

    Reply
  2. perry Post author

    I probably used the word “penance” wrongly. My apologies. But your philosophy of commenting reminds me of this quote from the file of quotations I maintain. ‘The service we render to others is really the rent we pay for our room on this earth. It is obvious that man is himself a traveler; that the purpose of this world is not “to have and to hold” but “to give and serve.” There can be no other meaning.’ — Sir Wilfred T. Grenfell

    Thanks for paying your “rent.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

